Home » Uncategorized » A Quick Hello

A Quick Hello

It’s been so long since I made a post. I am looking forward to fall and having time to sit down and catch up with you all. We are still busy with the garden. Right now we are making spaghetti sauce, salsa, grape juice, grape jelly, pumpkin puree for the freezer, roasted cabbage, and coleslaw all from our garden bounty. We are also enjoying fresh pears, apples, and watermelon as they ripen.

We just finished up our second full week of school. Madison started 11th, McKenzie 10th, and Quentin Jr. 9th. This is our first year using Switched-On Schoolhouse. My kids love it, and it really gives me a lot of free time since their school work is on the computer. Their daily work and tests are graded as they go, so I just have to peek at their grades to see how they’re doing.

Madison has had her learners for a week now. She passed her test the first time getting 100% of the questions right. I know, I’m bragging. 🙂

Our temps have been perfect with warm days and cool nights. Just perfect for sleeping. It really does feel like fall, and I have already been eating up pumpkin dishes.

I will share all the pictures I have taken for blog posts that I never got around to posting. I hope all is well and you are enjoying your summer.

:)Vicki

some tomatoes have gone in the freezer for soups and chili

some tomatoes have gone in the freezer for soups and chili

I have frozen peppers for omelets and pizza and made hot pepper jelly to have with cream cheese-yummy!

I have frozen peppers for omelets and pizza and made hot pepper jelly to have with cream cheese-yummy!

homemade brownies made by Madison

homemade brownies made by Madison

We harvested 5 pie pumpkins from the garden this year! The bugs usually get them.

We harvested 5 pie pumpkins from the garden this year! The bugs usually get them.

My fishermen fishing Little River last Sunday.

My fishermen fishing Little River last Sunday.

Pumpkin Pie in a mug

Pumpkin Pie in a mug

Willow, Eleanor, and their babies. The kids have all gone to their new homes.

Willow, Eleanor, and their babies. The kids have all gone to their new homes.

Yes, this bushel of pears came from our trees! I am waiting for them to soften up so I can make pear butter.

Yes, this bushel of pears came from our trees! I am waiting for them to soften up so I can make pear butter.

Chicken stir-fry made with sugar snaps and broccoli from this years garden.

Chicken stir-fry made with sugar snaps and broccoli from this years garden.

I am just so excited for fall!

I am just so excited for fall!

6 thoughts on “A Quick Hello

  1. Hi Vickie! Wow! Your harvests look amazing! And yes, you’ve been busy! You have a very nice blog! I’m not sure where you’re located, but your season is a lot like mine, here, in Alabama! Have a nice day! Blessings from Bama!

  2. Hi Vickie, The Lord has blessed you abundantly with all that bounty!! I can see why you have been so busy with all that and the homeschooling even though the program you have this year is easier. Enjoy! Nancy

  3. It’s great to hear from you. Thank you for making the time to put up a post and with pictures no less. *smile* So much fun! Congratulations on her score! That is exciting! *smile* For some reason I didn’t register how close in age your growing blessings are. My phone friend of ten years is hoping to use switched on schoolhouse this year. We are going to switch our son to Christian Light Publication for seventh grade but we are still in sixth grade for him and keep plugging along. *smile* Our daughter is plugging along through fifth grade and we are currently using Rod and Staff curriculum mixed with a little Christian Light that is sold at Milestone ministries. *smile* I look forward to seeing what light units are, apparently switched on schoolhouse uses light units too? What do you like best about your curriculum choice? I am curious is all. *smile* Maybe a post idea later in the fall. *smile* What did you use before? I hope your garden continues to bless your family with amazing produce. *smile* Our two growing blessings have been eating the tomatoes as they come on, it’s incredible how many veggies they eat right out of the garden. *smile* Blessings, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  4. It’s good to hear from you, Vicki! 🙂 It looks like you’ve had a great summer! I’ve never heard of pumpkin pie in a mug!
    I hope you all will have a great school year!
    Your pumpkin kitty is so cute!

Leave a Reply

