Home » Uncategorized » June 1 Garden Update

June 1 Garden Update

I got the garden watered first thing this morning. It’s looking like we will get rain over the next few days. Our plants really need it, and it will lighten my work load so I am pretty excited. It’s the little things, right?

001After watering, I picked peas. It doesn’t look like much, but I was able to freeze 3 bags with 3 cups of peas in each. That’s 9 cups total. The best my peas have ever done! These will be used in stir-fry. I hope to get a few more weeks of picking.

002

Our broccoli is looking good and strong. These are the plants I started from seed. There are about 26 all together.

003

The pepper plants are still small. It always takes them a while.

005

Tomato plants look great! Who’s looking forward to a garden ripened tomato?

006

We have 5 rows of cucumbers.

007

Two rows of radishes.

008

Corn is popping up.

009

The kale is getting bushy.

010

The cabbage is starting to form heads.

011

Squash and Zucchini

012

Watermelons are growing throughout the garden.

013

A few rows of potatoes.

014

And Green Beans

015

There are various herbs growing around the house. This is lemon balm.

017

 I weeded the beets(forgot to get a picture), peas, and corn after lunch and made 5 tomato cages.  I was secretly hoping the rain would come before then so I wouldn’t have to work the garden, but it held off. 🙂  Once I get the watermelon patch weeded, I will have made my way through the whole garden once, and it will be time to start all over again. It’s a never ending cycle!

:)Vicki

9 thoughts on “June 1 Garden Update

  1. Nice garden. Weeds are one of those things, if it’s in the wild, they are beautiful in the garden, not so much. *smile* Your peas look pretty. *smile* Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  2. Your garden looks fabulous! 9 cups of peas is quite a lot if you consider the cost in the store for organic ones. Your soil is so much better thank our. We have clay that is so stubborn only raised beds do well for me.
    Have a great week!

  3. Very nice, and a large variety! (neat too!) It is raining, raining, raining, here now! Cold too
    😦 The gardens are growing with the rain though:)
    Andrea

  4. Your garden is looking so good! How did you do your peas when you put them in the freezer? I am hoping to have enough to put in the freezer. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  5. It was very nice to see your garden pics. It gives me hope that maybe next week I’ll be able to put in the kitchen garden. We had frost 2 nights ago and the last 2 weekends flurries.:(
    Summer will come here someday.
    Take care

Leave a Reply

