Home » Uncategorized » Growing (and Eating) Sugar Snap Peas

Growing (and Eating) Sugar Snap Peas

017Our pea seeds went in the ground on March 18, and yesterday we picked for the very first time.

020We like to make a foil packet and add the peas, olive oil, and sea salt and place them on the grill a ways from the heat while everything else is cooking.

Yesterday, I sauteed them inside heating about 1/2 T of olive oil, adding the peas and some sea salt, then cooking for 5 minutes until tender crisp. Yum!

028You can mulch around your plants to keep the roots cool to extend your harvest. I will weed our plants one good last time and mulch heavily with straw.

And pray for lots and lots of peas!

:)Vicki

3 thoughts on “Growing (and Eating) Sugar Snap Peas

  1. When you say “mulch” what do you mean? Our soil gets really dry and hard around here so we need to water pretty well. This year I put my peas in a bed that our yard sprinklers will water for me in hopes of getting peas with more ease this year. We shall see how they do. They are in more of a flower bed than a garden bed. *smile* Have a great day. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  2. Mulch by spreading a thick layer of something on the ground around the plants. It will help keep the roots cool and hold more moisture too. I planned on using straw but am thinking I will use grass clippings from the lawn mower. 🙂

  3. Hi Vicki! That is good info about the hay. I have been thinking of using my extra bunny hay. Your sugarsnap peas look plump and perfect. I love those curlers (other post). They did a perfect curl. Very pretty. I used to have those foam curlers. They were a great invention to sleep in! ha. Not sure if they even sell them anymore. So yours would do the trick. And finally, homemade jam is so tempting. I hope to make some today. Andrea

Leave a Reply

