Home » Family Fun » Howdy!

Howdy!

We are still getting used to the time change around here but really liking the longer daylight hours. Quentin had several days off in a row, so we enjoyed an early spring break.

We spent a whole day thrift shopping, went to an auction one day, and went to Gatlinburg. Now we are tuckered out. πŸ™‚

My favorite thrift store find was this bean cookbook. There are a lot of good recipes I want to try. I will share them with you as I try them.

019

I am also loving this kitty. She doesn’t beg for food, potty in the floor, or scratch up my furniture. Yes, she’s pretty perfect.

009

Quentin’s favorite find, by far, was this Star Wars ship. He was happy it came with the pilot and especially happy that the pilot’s card was inside.

020

It was 68ΒΊ in Gatlinburg on Sunday. It was so nice to be outside and not freeze to death. We visited the aquarium and stayed close enough that we were able to walk and enjoy the weather.

Inside the aquarium. Madison got me this shirt when she was out shopping with Quentin last week. I have made everyone watch each of the Jurassic Park movies twice. They are good sports though. Gotta get ready for the new movie. :)

Inside the aquarium. Madison got me this shirt when she was out shopping with Quentin last week. I have made everyone watch each of the Jurassic Park movies twice. They are good sports though. Gotta get ready for the new movie. πŸ™‚

We have tried some new recipes this week that are definitely keepers.

Baked Pancake Squares I made half with chocolate chips(they sank)

Baked Pancake Squares I made half with chocolate chips(they sank). Taste just like pancakes, but you don’t have to stand in front of the stove forever.

Made this cake with homemade icing. It is seriously good!

Madison made this cake with homemade icing. It is seriously good!

Baked Chicken Chimichangas. We topped ours with queso.

Baked Chicken Chimichangas. We topped ours with queso. We will be making these again and again and again.

Β We did a little Easter decorating today.

We have had this Easter village since Madison was a baby!

We have had this Easter village since Madison was a baby!

Quentin wants to take extra special care of our fruit trees, blueberry bushes, and grapevines this year. They are all starting to produce a lot of fruit. Friday he sprayed everything with neem oil. The fruit tree spray is for when the trees leave out.

018

My neighbor gave me two new(to me) houseplants. Houseplants make me happy. πŸ™‚ I had fun repotting them and getting them ready for their new home.

A Christmas cactus(I have always wanted one) and a snake plant. I was happy to see the snake plant in this list for plants that improve indoor air quality.

A Christmas cactus(I have always wanted one) and a snake plant. I was happy to see the snake plant in this list for plants that improve indoor air quality.

My seeds are starting to sprout. I moved them outside yesterday.

021

:)Vicki

I am linking up to:

Homestead Blog Hop

14 thoughts on “Howdy!

  1. Hi vicki! You had a very fun weekend! And the chocolate cake …I can just taste it! yum.
    All your cooking looks good. I will take note of your fruit tree sprays. I’m hoping my apple trees might start having blossoms soon…but I might have to wait a few more years….they might just be 2 and 3 years old now. Andrea

  2. Your thrift store finds are awesome. I’m sure there are lots of bean recipes in that book. I love beans. I like your new houseplants. They look pretty in front of the fireplace. I too can hardly wait to be outside working. God bless.

  3. How fun to hear you were at Gatlinburg which is pretty close to where we live. Sunday was fabulous, and we enjoyed the warm temps, too. Madison’s cake looks great, between it and the chimichangas I’m drooling and getting really hungry. lol.
    Your plants look good. I planted lettuce and onions yesterday – wish I’d started them sooner. Have a great rest of the week!

  4. I would love to have a blueberry bush, but I don’t have a spot wet enough. I might try a pot on the deck, but worry about it getting too dry if we go away for awhile in the summer. We can go up into the high country and pick wild ones, but never seem to catch them sweet enough. Timing is everything. – Margy

  5. We enjoyed Gatlinburg too when we were there and the aquarium. Glad you could get away and enjoy yourselves. We pruned our fruit trees today. Hope we did it right. First time. Waiting for it to get warm enough to spray. Nancy

Leave a Reply

