Home » Garden » Wintertime Blues & Garden Prepping

Wintertime Blues & Garden Prepping

Late winter blues are the worst! And to beat winter blues, I put together  this little greenhouse that Quentin bought me at the end of last gardening seasoning on clearance for 90% off. Seriously, it was only about two or three bucks!

019

Seeds have started arriving in the mail. Thursday, I got super sugar snap pea, bull’s blood beet, national pickling cucumber, scarlet nantes carrot, hybrid jet star tomato, and premium crop broccoli seeds. The premium crop broccoli is supposed to resist button heads, so I am hoping for some huge heads of broccoli this spring.

006I plan to use the mini greenhouse to start broccoli, tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, chives, and parsley the first week in March. I will plant my sugar snap peas directly in the ground mid March.

It’s easy to make “free” seedling pots out of newspapers. I have made and used them before. The best part of all is you can pop the whole thing in the ground, plant and all!

My winter sowing experiment seems to be going well. The jugs look nice and moist but not frozen. I am anxious for warm weather to see how they grow.

011

See there, I feel better already! It’s amazing what a little garden talk can do for a person.

If that didn’t work for you, grab a snuggle buddy. And a cat.

013

:)Vicki

 I am linking up to:

Simple Saturdays Blog Hop

 &

sunday social 200

&

blog_button2

16 thoughts on “Wintertime Blues & Garden Prepping

  1. Love your greenhouse – I want one! 🙂 Garden talk does chase away the winter blues. The mini-greenhouses using the jugs are a great idea. I tried that for the first time last year, and it worked like a charm. So far this year I’ve not started one single seed, but I’m going to remedy that this week. Have a great day!

  2. Hi Vicki. I almost bought one of those greenhouses at Tractor Supply. (But I don’t have room for it really). My husband and I have been playing board games over and over again.
    We will all appreciate nice weather when it comes…and have to run outside and do stuff!

    • The greenhouse turned out to be bigger than I thought. I will need to bring it in at night until night temps warm up. We played another game of monopoly yesterday. I think I am done with it until next year! After getting snow and ice all day yesterday, it warmed up and rained last night, so we were able to get out this morning.

  3. I love your greenhouse! It will be so much fun starting your seeds in it. Good picture of you and Quentin. Talking about gardening definitely cheers me up. God bless.

  4. What an awesome buy on the greenhouse. It looks like it would be so handy! I worked a little outside today on my cutting and herb gardens as it was sunny out. It feels so good to be outside even for a little bit this time of year!

    Sweet blessings,
    Sharon

  5. I love this! It does chase away my winter blues to think about my garden, and i have been latley. I live on the West coast and we have crocuses coming up all over! We are so foutunate. This year I want to do some vegies in pots, on the patio. We live in a townhouse so I need to get creative and just do it! I found you on Momo moments. Thanks for posting all your photos!

  6. Pingback: The Sunday Social March 1st - The Cedar Hill Chronicles

  7. Pingback: The Sunday Social March 1st -

Leave a Reply

