Home » Uncategorized » This Weeks Menu & Grocery Budget & Garden Planning

This Weeks Menu & Grocery Budget & Garden Planning

It’s been a while since I shared our menu. We are starting to run out of garden veggies now. We have used up all our green peppers and only have a couple more bags of tomatoes left. We have started planning this years garden. We will be planting sugar snap peas about mid March and carrots and broccoli the first of April. I am planning a large carrot patch and have been fertilizing both the pea and carrot patches heavily with bunny berries. I am going to spend a bit of time reading up on growing peas and carrots this week. So far I really like this post about growing carrots.

We use Rodale’s Garden Problem Solver each year. It is full of information about pests and diseases and gives you an idea of when you should plant. We have decided to start using it as our garden journal to write down the dates we plant and such each year.

002001Our temps are supposed to get up in the 50s in the coming week. That will hopefully give me the chance to combine everything in the garden that needs burned into one pile.

Here is our menu for this week:

Sat. -BBQ Venison & Potato Salad

Sun. -Fajitas & Rice

Mon. -Baked Hot Legs & Italian Pasta Salad

Tues.- Pot Roast, Potatoes, Carrots, & Onions

Wed.- Chili Beans & Corn Bread

Thurs.- Steak, Green Beans, & Ranch Pasta Salad

Fri.- Hot Dogs & Roasted Potatoes

Breakfast– Cereal, Eggs, Toast, Oatmeal*

Lunch– Baloney Sandwiches, Carrots, Grapes, Strawberries, and/or Bananas

Snacks- Homemade baked goods, fruit, & reheated leftovers-yum!

We spent $100.57 which also included dog food, toiletries, and new under clothes. ๐Ÿ™‚

*Madison has really been enjoying this oatmeal recipe created by herself.

Refrigerator Oatmeal

1/2 Banana

Spoonful of Peanut Butter

1/2 cup Oats

1/2 cup Milk

Combine and refrigerate over night. Enjoy!

I participated inย Simple Saturdays Blog Hop

&

Homestead Blog Hop

5 thoughts on “This Weeks Menu & Grocery Budget & Garden Planning

  1. I am eager to get started on a spring bed of veggies too. This warm weather sure does feel good. I have never saw a book like the one you use. It looks very interesting. Madison’s oatmeal sounds good. I would like to try it sometime. Does she eat it cold? Talk to you soon. God bless.

  2. Good job on your menu planning. Don’t you just hate to buy from the grocery store what you can grow in the garden! I found out that I need to keep the top of my soil moist until the seeds pop up for carrots. Nancy

    • Yes! My kids and I eat carrots every single day. I am planning a pretty big space for carrots. I will try watering at least 2 times a day. Quentin got me a nice metal watering can yesterday with a fine spraying spout. I can’t wait to try it out!

  3. Hi Vicki! I love that birthday cake! Another winter birthday at your house…that must brighten things up. I will look at that carrot link. I just throw my seeds in and over-crowd terribly! If it gets up to 50’s, that will surely feel like spring! Andrea

  4. I need to get back to meal planning. It makes life so much easier! Thanks for sharing at the Homestead Blog Hop. Hope to see you again this week! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

