Home » Recipes » Slow Cooker Black Bean and Lentil Soup

Slow Cooker Black Bean and Lentil Soup

This was a yummy soup that got eaten all up. My family loved it, and I loved that it was cheap and healthy. 🙂

I didn’t get a picture, but it went great with sandwiches for lunch and a deer roast for supper.

Speaking of deer, Bub got a buck last Saturday, and Quentin got a doe this morning.

Bub with his deer.

Bub with his deer.

I found the soup recipe here at Natural Chow.

Slow Cooker Black Bean and Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. bag dry lentils
  • 1/4 lb. dry black beans
  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 can organic diced tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 5 cups hot water
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Rinse lentils and black beans. Discard any small pebbles or bad beans. Pour them into the slow cooker. Add the onions, carrots, tomatoes, garlic, cumin, chili powder, parsley, and hot water to your slow cooker.
  2. Place your lid on top, and cook on HIGH for 6 hours. Try not to open your slow cooker or stir the soup.
  3. Remove the lid, and add the salt and pepper to taste. Mash the soup into a thicker mixture if desired. Serve hot. The soup will be very thick, almost like chili. Garnish with sour cream, fresh parsley, or cheddar cheese.

*I soaked my black beans for about 8 hours and gave them a good rinse before putting them in the crock pot at 11p.m. My soup cooked on low for about 12 hours until lunch time the following day.

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Black Bean and Lentil Soup

  1. Hi Vicki! I started up two blogs but I didn’t activate my comment section. I just want to say I copied your recipe (thanks!) and congrats on the buck and doe! You are beginning fall with abundant blessings! Andrea

Leave a Reply

