Home » Uncategorized » What’s Cooking & Some Recipes

What’s Cooking & Some Recipes

What is there to eat? I get asked that question a lot.

It is nice having a stocked freezer and pantry. That means I can feed my family well for well under $100 a week. And that makes me happy!

This is some of what I cooked this week to keep those tummies full. ๐Ÿ™‚

Turkey Noodle Soup
& Garlic Toast
I used homemade stock that I made with my Thanksgiving turkey bones.

BBQ Sandwiches & Roasted Potatoes

005

Deer Stew (using McCormick Beef Stew seasoning mix) & Crescent Rolls

I added potatoes, carrots, celery, and a can of drained peas.

I added potatoes, carrots, celery, and a can of drained peas.

017

Mexican Enchilada Casserole

015

Lasagna & Whole Clove Garlic Bread

002

Deer Fajitas & Corn on the Cobย Using Cheryl’s Fajita Seasoning

004

Banana Bread

It takes longer to bake in a loaf pan. :) I made a simple glaze with powdered sugar and water.

It takes longer to bake in a loaf pan. ๐Ÿ™‚ I made a simple glaze with powdered sugar and water.

Double Chocolate Banana Muffins

001

I finished up my last day of work this week and am back to being a full time wife and mom. I typed that with a big smile on my face because nothing makes me happier. ๐Ÿ™‚

We just finished up a two week vacation from school and will get back to business Monday morning. I can’t wait!

A winter storm is supposed to be headed our way tomorrow morning. We are supposed to get 1-4 inches of snow with lots of ice on top of that. I do hope the power stays on if it hits. ๐Ÿ™‚

Snoopy Tree & Nativity

Snoopy Tree & Nativity

I hope you all are enjoying the Christmas season and keeping warm!

:)Vicki

I’m linking up to:

Homestead Barn Hop

8 thoughts on “What’s Cooking & Some Recipes

  1. You have some yummy meals there. I like a well stocked freezer and pantry too and cooking ahead! It has been really cold here and am thankful for electricity! Hope yours does not go off. Nancy

  2. I rejoice with you in being able to be back home. Thank you for sharing all of your tasty goodness with all of us. I have been lacking in this area the past week it seems. I have been trying to get up the courage to make a pizza from scratch for about two weeks now, it’s rediculous! It’s like sleves or a collar on a shirt, some things are just intimidating! *small smile/small sigh* Maybe I will mix up the dough and have the pizza ready for the oven but in the fridge. Like getting Papa Murphies the day before type of plan. *smile* We have been schooling and need to really start hitting the music and spanish harder than we have been. I am hopeful. We got to get new books for Music today some with holidy and praise and worship songs at their beginner level. I am not the only one who is excited about the new books and that makes me very happy! *big smile* Our tree is up now and smells amazing!! *big smile* Do stay wam in this winter wonderland. It seems to have passed by our little nitch in the hills but all around us got some snow from a dusting to several inches. God is good and knows what we need when we need it. I am thankful for the snow and hopeful we will get plenty in the hills for water in the summer. *smile* Have a great evening. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  3. Oh good, I’m so glad you’re back home! There’s just no place like it especially for moms and kids. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your meals look so good, especially the venison stew and fajitas – that’s good eatin’! I should have made bbq with our leftover turkey, but at least it got eaten. Have a great homestayin’ week!

  4. I am sure it feels like Christmas came early with being able to quit your job and be at full time! Your meals for the week look delicious! I love your Snoopy tree – so cute! We had a blizzard come through here at the beginning of the week. I have never seen so much snow in one day but we stayed warm and our power stayed on! Hope your storm isn’t as bad as they are predicting and that your power stays on! Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Oh Vicki your meals both look and sound delish! I am happy for you having that well stocked freezer. I know what you feel like being able to save at the store. It makes me so happy when I think of that every time I open a freezer. Congrats to being back home full time with the family,it must really feel great to be back.
    But then congrats As well to have been holding down the fort of working and being a full time Mom. I know with just looking after my Mom throughout the day when my Hubby is at work and my Kiddies at school, it puts me so far behind I often wonder how Moms manage with full time jobs.
    I love always love seeming your navity seen every year. It to cute. We too have a little people one we still put out ever though Jill is now 10.
    Take care and enjoy your time home with the family.

  6. I love this post! Seeing all you had for dinner for the week makes me feel like I shared it with you all. I had to take Grace back to the doctor yesterday. They gave her an inhaler to use here at home. It really seems to be helping. Hopefully, we will get a grip on this and get better soon. George has now officially been called a diabetic and I am on my way to the pharmacy to pick up a prescription for him. Hope to get together with you all next week. It has been too long! Enjoy your day and God bless.

  7. The pictures of all of that tasty looking food sure left me hungry:) I homeschooled my kids, too. I can’t imagine trying to work and homeschool, but I know people do it. Glad you don’t have to anymore:)

  8. Vicki,
    I so miss blogging but I just can’t seem to find the time. I think about you often.:) If you could send me your email address you use I would love to catch up with you. Looks like you have been cooking some yummy food.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

