Home » Uncategorized » All Things Fall

All Things Fall

We truly do enjoy this time of year. I think it could very well be the yummiest time of year! 

We have been enjoying hot chocolate, pumpkin lattes, apple butter on homemade biscuits, and cushaw pie.

This hot chocolate recipe is THE best homemade hot chocolate that we have ever tried. Madison found it online. We have memorized the recipe and can’t remember where it came from. Put 1/2 cup of milk, 1 Tablespoon of sugar, and 1/2 Tablespoon of cocoa in a mug. Microwave for 30 seconds and stir really well. I use a fork. Now add 1/2 Tablespoon of Hersheys syrup and microwave for 30 more seconds. Stir really well again and add marshmallows or whipped cream. Go ahead and try it. You will like it-I PROMISE!

This recipe is so good on those chilly mornings or right before bed. It really fills you up and stays with you for a while. I no longer fill left out when people talk about pumpkin lattes because I don’t like coffee. This is a no coffee pumpkin latte! You should try this recipe too. 🙂

1 cup pumpkin puree
1 quart milk
1/4 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:
1.Combine pumpkin, milk, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla in a large saucepan over medium heat.
2.Use a whisk to blend well.
3.Heat to a simmer; do not boil.

And one more recipe because we just made the best apple butter ever. It was a super easy crock pot recipe. You might want to give this one a try also. Especially if you are short on time.
Crockpot Apple Butter
5 lbs apples, peeled and finely sliced
3 cups sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1.Place apples in slow cooker in thirds, layering sugar between each layer.
2.Add rest of ingredients on top and pack them down as well as you can.
3.Cover and cook on high for 1 hour.
4.Reduce heat to low. Open and give it a stir. Keep covered and cook 8 hours or until thick and dark brown, stirring occasionally. (You can do this overnight and can in the morning).
5.Uncover and cook for the last hour on low.
6.If a smoother apple butter is desired, you may puree in blender or food mill.
7.Place in sterile jars with lids and process for 10 minutes in hot water bath or you can freeze.

We got 7 pints from 2 batches of the apple butter.

We got 7 pints from 2 batches.

We have been doing a little decorating also. After seeing Donna’s decorations, we put up some also.

A scarecrow family to greet you at the gate.

A scarecrow family to greet you at the gate.

Happy Fall!

Happy Fall!

 

001

002

My whole family LOVES Legos. Now mama has Legos too. If you can't beat them; join them. :)

My whole family LOVES Legos. Now mama has Legos too. If you can’t beat them; join them. 🙂

Bub just finished building us this Christmas cottage for Christmas decorating. We hope to add to it each year.

Bub just finished building us this Lego Christmas cottage for Christmas decorating. We hope to add to it each year.

Bub has become an expert at feeling through the packages of mini figures. He only needs to find us the Christmas elf now.

He has become an expert at feeling through the packages of mini figures. He only needs to find us the Christmas elf now.

I hope you all are enjoying fall (and maybe even a little Christmas too)!

:)Vicki

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “All Things Fall

  1. Thank you for sharing these recipies, they sound really good. I may just have to try the caffeen free late. *smile* Does your apple butter get thick? I have tried to make it a couple times now and it doesn’t get thick. Do you have any tips that worked for you? I would rather not freeze it if I make it again, though I have tried that before. My things get too runny when I freeze and then thaw. I am not as good at all of this as I would like, so any tips in this area are welcome. *smile* Your fall decorations are cute. Thanks for sharing. I popped over to see her’s too and already commented on how they look so nice. *smile* Have a great day and thanks for sharing the lovely pictures. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  2. I definitely want to try out the recipes. We have been doing hot chocolate as well using a homemade mix. I want to try your recipe. Sounds delicious. I was checking out a recipe the other day for baked pumpkin oatmeal. It sounded pretty good. I guess I need to get us some pumpkin. I want to make the lattes too. Your decorations look so cute. I LOVE fall. Did you all get to go to the Lego store? Are we still on for the Grayson Highlands day? Talk to you soon, God bless.

  3. I can’t wait to try your latte recipe. yum! We make a big old batch of Miss Ruth’s homemade cocoa and dig into it all winter long, but yours sounds yummy too. I was telling the girls and they want me to pick up some syrup ( if I can get it here) and make some. Can’t wait to try.
    Yep were a lego family as well, your never to old to play with lego. I see the wal mart even has advent calendars with lego in them. I would love to get one, but they are also $40 so we will need to think real hard on that. I love your christmas house. I really loved your gal display.
    PS… Donna put me in the fall decorating mood as well, and we have been busy doing a little decorating as well.
    Take care

  4. I just saw the Christmas village on line was going to tell you about it ! I wanted Daniel to chose the Fall scene but he chose the Legend of Chima mini figures instead. He also wants the Elf one so bad. What do you use to store the mini figures in ?

  5. This is my third comment here but I had to stop in to tell you that the apple butter recipie you shared here is the best I have tried. Thank you so much for sharing it. We love it! Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more! *smile*

  6. Hi Vicki!
    Your apple butter looks do delicious. I love hot chocolate, too, and usually use the recipe on the Hershey label with added vanilla and frozen whipped cream. 😉

    My girls loved playing with legos. I think it’s cool that you have your own.
    Love those fall decorations. Have a great day.

  7. I wanted to let you know that I linked to this post on my blog. Just thought I would let you know. *smile* The apple butter recipie. *big smile* Have a great weekend! Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessins & so much more!

  8. Pingback: Creamy Pumpkin Coffee | OneAndaHalfAcreHomestead

Leave a Reply

