Home » Uncategorized » Fall Is In the Air!

Fall Is In the Air!

We have been enjoying some wonderful, cool nights perfect for sitting outdoors by the fire with a blanket and roasting marshmallows.  

Last weekend, we went to the drive-in for the first and last time this summer. It surely did slip away quickly this year!

We have been picking the last of our garden. Just odds and ends from here and there.

Bringing in the last of the garden.

Bringing in the last of the garden.

We made hot pepper jelly with the last of our peppers. We got 7 jelly jars and 3 pints in all.

We made hot pepper jelly with the last of our peppers. We got 7 jelly jars and 3 pints in all plus half a jelly jar.

The last of the watermelons have been gathered.

The last of the watermelons have been gathered.

Our strawberry popcorn is drying. We will pick the last of it tomorrow.

Our strawberry popcorn is drying. We will pick the last of it tomorrow.

I finally, after two months, used my dutch oven.

A very moist whole chicken. It was very good!

A very moist whole chicken. It was very good!

I love being outdoors this time of year. Yesterday we took our first hike of the summer. Yes, we really did let summer get away from us!

011

012

021

022We retired Madison’s camera after these lined pics! 🙂

The chicks that the silkies hatched are really growing.

The chicks that the silkies hatched have really grown.

Can you see the two naked necks? They're our favorites.

Can you see the two naked necks? They’re our favorites.

The guinea keets have really grown too.

010Guniea Keets

These sweet, little kittens have grown a bunch too. They are five weeks old now and will need a new home soon.

002

Blue-eyed Max is my favorite.

Blue-eyed Max is my favorite.

I am going to do a special update post about each of our animals soon to let you all know how they are all doing.

Blessings from One and a Half Acre Homestead!

:)Vicki

10 thoughts on “Fall Is In the Air!

  1. Hi Vicki! We’re feeling a touch of fall here, too. It’s starting to cool down in the evenings. Love that. I’m loving that strawberry popcorn you raised. I tried growing it a few years ago and got only one ear. Have a great weekend!

  2. It is good to see and hear that you all are growing nicely as well as your garden produce. *smile* Have a wonderful weekend and a lovely week. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  3. Great pics Vicki, thanks for sharing them. I have never had hot pepper jelly. Do you put it on toast? Is it hot? Sounds like something I would put on a roast in the oven.
    I love this time of year as well. A hike sounds lovely.
    I love your slikies. I so wish I had some. (They are super hard to find around here) I think you are really going to love your Guinias. They are a either you love them or you don’t kinda animal. They sure are noisey little critters.
    Our kitties have grown so much as well. Mamma barn kitty will parobly be expecting again soon again…
    Have a great weekend.

  4. Even though you are just harvesting small amounts now isn’t it great to be getting a little variety of each. Seems like fall here in the mornings but gets hot by afternoon. Suppose to get rain and a little cooler. Hope so soon. Much to do out there. Nancy

  5. I jealous of your cool mornings and nights …it’s still VERY warm here (90 today). What movies did y’all see? We live ore Drive In here. I’ve been trying to convince Mom to go but she says in too late for her to be out at night 🙂 maybe you will convince her to go with you !

  6. I can count on one hand the number of days that it reached 90 here this summer. Quentin said one night next week it is supposed to be 45º here one night. I am looking forward to it, but that is crazy weather for September. We saw Smurfs. The Christiansburg drive in plays the same movie two times in one night. They are open through this weekend but are playing an R rated movie. I do want your mom to come with us sometime! We are going to camp at Daddy Rabbit’s in Willis tomorrow night, and I am going to try to get her to come too. It is on the parkway and not far from us. The website is http://www.blueridgemtns.net/drabbit if you want to check it out.

  7. Great pictures! Looks like a fun hike. I’m glad you used your dutch oven. The chicken really looks good. All your animals are growing. Strawberry popcorn? Very interesting. Will it pop red? I am going to go check our watermelons. We checked one last week and it still wasn’t ripe. The hot pepper jelly looks good. I haven’t made any yet. We’ll talk soon. God bless.

  8. Hi, Vicki! I enjoyed all your pictures! Your hike looks fun.
    Oh, the kittens are too precious! I definitely have a soft spot for those little furry creatures.♥
    Your chicken looks good. Glad you like your dutch oven. 🙂

  9. Oh, I wish we had cooler weather. We are still in the upper 80s and lower 90s. Hopefully things will cool down here soon. Our watermelons are still growing. We have a lot of peppers that I need to get in the freezer.

    Have a wonderful day.

    ~Cheryl

  10. Hi, Vicki I wanted to pop in and let you know that I have thinking and praying for you and your family. How is your Son? I pray all is alright.
    Children are strong and they seem to pull out of things so different then adults.
    Anyhow just wanted to let you know I was thinking of all of you.
    Take care

Leave a Reply

