Home » Uncategorized » Summertime

Summertime

We are thoroughly enjoying our summer.  It has been nice. Being not too hot or too cold.

A summer time treat-fried squash, okra, and green tomatoes.

A summer time treat-fried squash, okra, and green tomatoes straight from the garden.

Our garden is growing well. We are excited to have vines full of watermelon, cantaloupe, butternut squash, and cushaw.

012

The tomatoes are ripening. We are enjoying the yellow striped tomatoes most.

001

The meat chicks have grown so much and have graduated from their brooder to an outdoor pen.

005

Getting so big!

Getting so big!

The baby goats will be ready for a new home in a couple of weeks. We need to get busy building a milking stand.

001Buckling on left and doeling on right.

Summer porridge makes a great summer breakfast.  I use 1/4 c oats, 1/3 c milk, 1/4 c yogurt, and 1/2 c of our frozen strawberries. Let it sit in the fridge over night, and you have a quick, easy, and delicious breakfast.

Summer Porridge

Summer Porridge

We mixed up a batch of slice and bake chocolate chip cookies. I found it was easier to make into a roll after chilling in the fridge for a while. I also filled a  whipped topping tub. If they turn out good from the tub, that will be the way to go for me.

004

002

Here are some black and white pictures from around our homestead taken by Madison.

127

116

Stampede!

Stampede!

113

Run, Bambi!

Run, Bambi!

111

Me-new glasses(first time) and funny hat!

Me-new glasses(first time) and funny hat!

I hope you all are having a wonderful summer. I will back on soon to catch up on your blogs!

:)Vicki

 

 

6 thoughts on “Summertime

  1. Hi Vicki, You sound like you are having the kind of summer that everyone would like to have. Your produce is doing great and that picture of the baby goats just melt my heart! Your black and white pictures are so nice and you are adorable in your new glasses and hat! On the pizza recipe you gave me, do I have to have a special pan or can I just use a pizza pan? Sounds like just a pizza pan would be okay. Thanks. Nancy

  2. I’ll be right over for the fried green tomatoes and okra. 😉 We love fried summer vegetables. And your watermelons look fabulous.

    Those lil goats are so adorable. I bet you will miss them for a while, but how fun to be able to start milking. I hope all goes well with that.

    Your hat looks better than mine! Have a great week!

  3. I just made the summer porridge recipe. I used blueberries. I LOVE, LOVE the picture of you!!! You are so beautiful, inside and out. Tell Madison I really like the black and white pictures. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  4. Jill can not wait for me to try this breakfast summer porridge.
    Madison did a amazing job with her pictures. You should get them blown up and make a group of frames on the wall. Simply amazing. Good job Madison!
    The picture of you is beautiful.
    Our meat birds are on their last bag of feed, and then it’s that time….
    My your goat kids are growing fast.
    Great idea with the cookie dough.
    Take care and I enjoyed the post.

  5. Hi Vicki ~ It does look like it is a lovely summer at your house! We are enjoying the summer here too. I love the picture of your watermelon, I wish I had some growing in my garden! Great job on the pictures Madison took ~ lovely!

    Have a sweet day,
    Sharon

  6. This is a wonderufl update. Thank youfor sharing with us. Though I thouroghly enjoy the colors God created, your black and white pictures are beautiful! Thanks for sharing. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

Leave a Reply

