Home » Uncategorized » Moving Right Along

Moving Right Along

Baby Chicks

Baby Chicks are just so cute.

Summer is moving right along, and the last few weeks have been nice.

Quentin and I celebrated our 15th anniversary on July 7th. Quentin had to work but surprised me with flowers and a dutch oven. I haven’t used it yet but want to try this first.

  We started school on July 8th. We are casually working throughout the day but still getting a lot accomplished.

We ordered 50 fryer chicks and they arrived at the post office on July 10th. Some of them did not make the trip, and we have lost more also. The others seem to be doing fine now. I think there is one broody silky hen. I am hoping the others will follow suit and hatch some eggs from our laying hens.

Friday night was spent camping. We camped at Claytor again and had a wonderful time. Our summer has been cool so it was perfect sleeping weather.

The garden is doing good. We have had so much rain and need sunshine now to start ripening our fruit.  We have made dill pickles, pickled peppers, frozen bell peppers, and canned green beans. The deer have eaten more than their fair share of things. Cucumbers and apples seem to be their choice fruits this year. I am trying to keep everything sprayed and am using fishing line to deter them.  Now if Bernard would only stay awake at night and chase them away.

And lastly, Quentin got a new job closer to home. We can’t wait for him to start so we can spend more time together.

Summer is supposed to make an appearance tomorrow with temps reaching 86º. I was wondering if it was ever going to arrive.

I hope you all are enjoying your summer.

:)Vicki

10 thoughts on “Moving Right Along

  1. Hi Vicki! You have been busy! Alot is going on for you, and I think you are smart to start school. Happy Anniversary! I’m sure your bread will turn out good! Sorry some of your chicks did not make it. My son had a few ducks and chicks delivered via mail to his house (they are so cute…he sent me a video). He and his wife are thrilled! Neat idea with the deer and fishing line….maybe I will suggest that to my son.

    You are right…now we need the sun. Glad your husband won’t have to travel far away now!!!!

  2. Hi Vicki, A belated Happy Anniversary. I don’t have a Dutch Oven and will be interested to hear what all you do with it! Our back yard is so hot at times I think I could fry an egg. Doesn’t make me want to be out there gardening! So glad your hubby got a new job and you can spend more time together. Sounds like you are starting to get lots or preserving done! Nancy

  3. Ha…sounds like we have similar interests.
    It seems it is fun for girls, especially, to be an “Indian”! Dress up, etc. My boys played with toy guns, so I think that is why they didn’t get into that! ha.

  4. I want to try out the bread recipe. I copied the link over to my blog under “things I want to try”. Let me know if you try it and how it turns out. The chicks look so cute. I hope they are doing okay now. I agree about getting together soon. A picnic and a hike would be great. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  5. Happy belated anniversary!
    Good for you starting school already! I hope you have a great year.
    How nice that your husband got a job closer to home! I’m sure you’ll enjoy that!
    I’m glad your garden is going well for you. My dad does all sorts of things to keep the critters out…rubber snakes, fake owls, aluminum pie pans strung around. 🙂

  6. Happy anniversary to you as wel Vicki! Your lucky to have veggies already in the garden, you are so much further ahead then us. We buy this powder stuff to put into the baby chicks water after they come from there long trip to sort of bring then back to life. It seems to work well, but your right we always seem to loose some too. I have also used molasses in there water as well. Our meat birds are growing quickly and I think I will only give one more bag of food and that’s it, to the freezer they go…
    A pool is a great investment we got ours second hand years ago for free for coming and raking it down as the people were getting a new one. We have bought a new liner for it 9 years ago and have patched things here and there over the years. I am sure if you keep your eye out you will find one. We filled ours with the fire truck once, but now if I need to empty it in the spring we use the garden hose and the well, but it takes over a week to fill. We do have a good deep well.
    Take care

  7. Happy Anniversary! My husband and I took our five year old out tonight for our ninth wedding anniversary. She figured that since she arrived because of the wedding that she should be included in the celebration. And I think she is right.

    Thank you for linking to my Dutch Oven Bread recipe. It really is a simple as it looks. One thing you might want to try with a new Dutch Oven (just in case it isn’t seasoned enough) is to use parchment paper. When you take the dough out of the bowl to rest while the Dutch Oven is heating, after you form it into a ball, put the dough on a piece of parchment paper. When it is time to put the dough into the pan, you can lift the paper, rather than the sticky dough, then put paper and all into the Dutch Oven to cook. The parchment paper will brown a bit but it is made to bake at high temps and shouldn’t affect the bread. It also makes it easier to lift the bread out of the hot Dutch Oven when it is all done. Let me know how it goes!

    Widgy Cat
    Catsonthehomestead.blogspot.com

  8. Happy belated anniversary. It is good to read of your adventures. *smile* You will have to share how your bread turns out. It looks so good. I popped over to check out the site and several things there look good. *smile* Great job with the preserving from your garden. Ours is having issues and today I noticed some rouge tomato plants in my supposed to be pumpkin (rather full of weeds actually) patch. It was funny to see and I checked those leaves against my on purpose tomato plants. *smile* We shall see. *smile* I agree, chicks are cute. *smile* Thanks for sharing all your updates and lovely summer news. Have a great rest of your week. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  9. Hi Vicki!
    Happy Anniversary! I love my Dutch oven(s). I have three all different sizes. You will love it.
    The chicks are so cute. I wish I could have a new batch, but right now it’s not working.
    Our temperatures have been in the nineties for a few days. Pass the iced tea please!
    Have a great week.

  10. Thanks Vicki!
    That is a good price for your soap. They are only making a small markup (because I didn’t put into account my stick blender, scale, and some other costs). $3 is reasonable. It does last longer than store soap, so that is something to take into account too! I got your email address and will send you a test email soon. And don’t worry, I delete all comments one by one to make sure they don’t stay in cyberspace!

Leave a Reply

