Home » Uncategorized » Happy Summer!

Happy Summer!

All week was spent at home except for a quick trip into our little town on Wednesday. Quentin was on vacation last week, and we were out and about all week long. It has been wonderful to catch up on house work and laundry.

Summer has arrived in all its beauty. Our vegetable garden is really starting to come to life, and the daylilies are blooming.

Back and side flower beds are getting really FULL.

Back and side flower beds are getting really FULL.

Daylilies on the hillside.

Daylilies on the hillside.

Last Tuesday we visited the Biltmore.

Tuesday of last week we visited the Biltmore.

Madison and McKenzie outside the Biltmore with their grandparents.

Madison and McKenzie outside the Biltmore with their grandparents.

In the gardens at the Biltmore.

In the gardens at the Biltmore.

Madison added an Angora to her rabbits. Here she is harvesting Ernest's fur.

Madison added an Angora to her rabbits. Here she is harvesting Ernest’s fur.

Wednesday night we camped at Claytor Lake.

Last Wednesday night we camped at Claytor Lake.

Bambi "fished" for two straight hours.

Bambi “fished” for two straight hours.

A rabbit inside the park.

A rabbit inside Claytor Lake park.

Madison treated us with homemade strawberry shortcakes with homemade ice cream. They were so good!

Madison treated us to homemade strawberry shortcakes with homemade ice cream. They were so good!

Bub with a bass on Father's Day 2013.

Bub with a bass on Father’s Day 2013.

And just for fun-a wee little Bub with a fish from several years ago!

And just for fun-Bub with a fish in 2008. They do grow quickly!

The potatoes are blooming adding a touch of color to the vegetable garden.

The potatoes are blooming adding a touch of color to the vegetable garden.

Tomato plants are doing great.

Tomato plants are doing great.

Mama and babies are still doing well. These guys are quite comical.

Mama and babies are still doing well. These guys are quite comical.

I hope summer has found you healthy and happy!

:)Vicki

10 thoughts on “Happy Summer!

  1. It looks like you’re really enjoying your summer! Love the pictures! Bambi is just so cute! I’ve always wanted to visit Biltmore, but I haven’t been yet. Your garden is looking great!

  2. Happy Summer to you!
    What a nice trip you had. It’s been years since I was at Biltmore.
    Willow and the kids look great. I love their color pattern.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Your pictures are great. I wish we could have went with you all to the Biltmore. It looks like everyone had a great time. Your garden and flowers are looking so good. We ended up not even planting potatoes this year. We were just so late getting everything out. The baby goats are adorable. Hopefully, we will get to see them soon. I love the pictures of Bubby. They sure do grow up fast. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  4. What a fun vacation! We have been to the Biltmore and can you imagine someone living in a home like that!! Your daylilies are pretty and your potatoes look so good. Don’t you just love this time of year! Bambi looks so cute fishing! Enjoy your gardens! Nancy

  5. Blitmore looks amazing! Thanks for sharing that picture with us. What a treat to have a duaghter that enjoys making things for others, that is such a blessing you have there. *smile* The fishing, gardening, camping, rabbits and all sound like so much fun. Thanks for sharing your good days with all of us. Have a wonderful weekend. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  6. Everything looks so lovely and summery. I am so happy to hear that the babies are doing well. Madison has mad a very wise choice. I have many angoras over the years and they have always been my favorite. I sure missing having them. But when slow down and I have more time I will be getting them again as well. I always gave mine canned or fresh pineapple to prevent wool block.
    I also miss have the fiber to spin. Angora was what I learned to spin with.
    Take care and enjoy your weekend.
    Happy summer

  7. vicki, you sure had a nice week! That angora is neat! I’ll have to show my daughter. Your kids are good at what they do….the angora fur, the bass…even your dog! That Biltmore estate is neat….I’ve read about it. Happy first day of summer!

  8. Thanks Vicki….I think my son is enjoying visiting his brothers tonight. I hope your “kids” (real and goats) are enjoying this nice warmth!

  9. Hi Vicki! I used to go on the “lesser” rides at amusement parks. Once my kids did trick me on going on a roller coaster, saying it wasn’t bad. It was awful! (That was 25 years ago!)
    Soft-serve ice cream is my weakness! I had to stop picking one up at mcdonald’s each time I drop my daughter off to work there!

Leave a Reply

