Home » Uncategorized » Another Lovely Week

Another Lovely Week

It’s been another lovely week! Hasn’t it? We were blessed with the time and energy to get our driveway gate up, build Willow’s kidding pen, and get our yard mowed. Oh boy, did it need a good mowing!

008

My in laws were generous enough to give us their PVC pipe lawn furniture that they had since Quentin was a little boy. We scrubbed it up, repaired it, and got new cushions. There, good as new. 🙂

003

We went to town on Wednesday to deliver some chickens and did a little thrift shopping while we were at it. Quentin and Madison spotted this old cabinet and knew I would have to have it. I brought it home for just $12! I have already cleaned it and sanded it in some places. I am going to paint it and make it my own and call it my pantry. Can’t you just see it filled with jars of garden yummies?

005

Our garden is still coming up. Most days we are able to forage from it a little something for the table. We have had quite a bit of rain this week. It was starting to look pretty dry. Now we would like some sunshine please. 🙂

009

Here is the rest of our week in pictures.

Homemade waffles with fresh strawberry syrup

Homemade waffles with fresh strawberry syrup

Sauteed radishes

Sauteed radishes

Grazing Goats

Grazing Goats

Strawberry Cobbler

Strawberry Cobbler

Bernard enjoying his freedom now that the gate is up.

Bernard enjoying his freedom now that the gate is up.

Baked banana bread oatmeal.

Baked banana bread oatmeal.

chickens wings, corn on the cob, and jalapeno poppers

chicken wings, corn on the cob, and jalapeno poppers

Strawberries ready for the freezer

Strawberries ready for the freezer

We are addicted to making cupcakes!

We are addicted to making cupcakes!

Boiled egg mice with radishes and lettuce from the garden.

Boiled egg mice with radishes and lettuce from the garden.

I found this unusually small egg in our field.

I found this unusually small egg in our field.

Fresh Strawberry Muffins

Fresh Strawberry Muffins

I hope to spend some time hoeing and weeding the garden this weekend. Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

:)Vicki

10 thoughts on “Another Lovely Week

  1. It sure looks like you’ve enjoyed a wonderful week. I’m chuckling over those adorable mice. I will have to surprise my granddaughters with some like yours the next time they are here. (I’ll have to buy the radishes, though.) Your strawberries look good and tasty. Ours are the ever-bearing kind and are blooming ferociously, again. I can’t wait for the next round of them.

    I’m pea-green with envy over that pantry! It’s fabulous and very smart of you to buy it. I was just thinking this week that I need to take out my short jelly cabinet and get a taller one. I’ll have to check out the thrift stores. Thanks for the idea.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Yum! Your baking and cooking looks good! You have been busy. It must feel wonderful to have your land and view. Wow, that out door furniture looks nice! (and your new cabinet). We had a swimming pool made out of pvc pipes…then they started using metal…pvc was so much better. The mice are such a cute idea. (and the little tiny egg..ha).

    It is pouring here today! Hmmm….it makes you wonder if summer is going to be summery!

  3. I’m so glad you all were able to get your gate up across your driveway and that your dog is enjoying the newfounded freedoms that come with that. *smile* Your fresh strawberries look mouthwatering. *smile* I liked to hear of the fun you all have been enjoying in the kitchen too. *smile* Glad it was a wonderful health filled week. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  4. Yous have certainly accomplished a lot this week!! How nice to get those lawn chairs and new cushion. I am sure they will be enjoyed! Your pantry cupboard find will be so nice and handy. I love waffles but I don’t have a waffle maker! Enjoy your week-end! Nancy

  5. Yum your food looks so good. Wow look at all those strawberries I can’t wait for our season. I love that pantry, and your right it is going to look beautiful filled with all your jars of hard work. Have a great weekend with the family.

  6. hello vicki,
    your week sounds busy. your food looks delicious,the chairs looks wonderful with the new cushion. and your pantry find is a dream!!!!
    wish you a nice week,
    blessings regina

  7. Wow, the cabinet was a great find. I can’t wait to see it. Your strawberries look delicious. You will have to do the jalapeno poppers for us sometime when we come over. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  8. Hi vicki: I always pass the pre-made homes when I go to Lancaster (PA) and I would love to pick out some land and pick out one of those! I hear they are better made, that homes made in a factory generally are! Maybe someday I will do that! I’m not crazy about split levels, I don’t count the bottom level as a good living space, but they are better then bi-levels which have only below and above, no ground level space.

    We just had storms pass through this a.m..it got as dark as night. But they weren’t bad after all. So far, so good!

Leave a Reply

