Home » Uncategorized » What’s Growing

What’s Growing

Sunshine sure does a body good, but just look at what all that rain brought last week! I do believe my favorite color must be green.

Back Flower/Mint/Strawberry Bed

Back Flower/Mint/Strawberry Bed

The hostas will soon take over.

The hostas will soon take over.

It has been a struggle to get anything to grow on this hillside!

It has been a struggle to get anything to grow on this hillside!

We got our garden planted on Wednesday. I can’t wait for everything to start sprouting! Right now we have radishes, lettuce, cabbage, beets, potatoes, onions, tomato plants, pepper plants, and of course strawberries up and doing well.

I can't wait!

I can’t wait!

Hoping for lots of cucumbers and pickles!

Hoping for lots of cucumbers and pickles!

Potato rows are popping up. I have already killed two potato bugs.

Potato rows are popping up. I have already killed two potato bugs.:(

Thursday was Quentin’s birthday. Such a fun day. We had chocolate cake and quesadillas, and he got a new charcoal grill. Oh, how he loves to cook on charcoal!

Happy 39th B-Day, Quentin!

Happy 39th B-Day, Quentin!

A yummy birthday meal!

A yummy birthday meal!

I love it when he cooks!:)

I love it when he cooks!:)

I hope everyone has had a lovely week and has a blessed weekend!

:)Vicki

21 thoughts on “What’s Growing

  1. Hi, Vicki,
    Your plants are looking really good. Our hostas are huge too!
    I also love it when my husband cooks!! We had hamburgers on the grill a couple days ago…yummy!
    Happy birthday to your husband. Oh, that chocolate looks good. He has caught up to me. I’ll be the big 4-0 in October. Yikes! How time flies!
    Enjoy your weekend. I AM SO GLAD IT’S FRIDAY! šŸ˜€

  2. Wow, it sounds like you’ve been really busy! Your hostas and strawberries look very healthy. Our main garden isn’t even plowed, yet. All that’s growing here right now is in raised beds. I have plants ready to set out, but it’s rained so much we haven’t been able to get the garden in, so far.
    We are hoping to sell our house this year, also. Still have a bit more work to do before we put it on the market.
    Have a great weekend!

    • Hi, Toni! That’s how it was here last week. Rain, rain, and more rain! I hope it lets up on you soon so you can get your garden in. Our home is on the market, but we haven’t had any traffic. I hope you have a great weekend!

  3. hello vicki,
    your plants looking great. beautiful hostas….i like this plant.your Happy birthday to your husband. the chocolate cake looks delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Have a nice weekend,
    love regina

  4. Happy Birthday to your husband. Everything looks so good. I love it when things turn green after winter. We have been enjoying radishes from our garden.

    Have a wonderful day with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  5. Hi Vicki!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ha! I’m glad you found me too! I always checked on your old address once in a while…wondering if you would decide to come back like I did. I guess I got over the fear of putting my info out there. (ha…I figured the gov’t has all that info already!) But I do take away some posts after having them up, weed the more personal ones away. I even tried wordpress for a day…then got cold feet and deleted it!

    Your gardening and animals look great….and your kids look as happy as ever. My youngest daughter is graduating this month, from high school, and besides one son/wife being in Maryland, (and one in DE) I have a son living in Virginia and one (and his wife) in West Virginia. The one in WVA just moved there and has 10 acres, a house that needs alot of work, and lots of critters (and snakes) running around!

    I love charcoal too. Happy b’day to your husband. I like that grill. Maybe if I would get one like that my husband would do the grilling? ha.
    Well, welcome back to blogging…I just feel God sends us to each other.

  6. You have got to be kidding me! *big smile* My beloved turns 39 this year too. HA HA HA. I am not kidding. I turn 34 today and later this year he turns 39. It looks like he really enjoyed his birthday present, that is wonderful. *smile*

    This is fun getting to know how many things we have in common. *big smile* We planted potatos, but nothing is coming up yet. We planted considerablly later than you did though. *smile* I have a terrible time with strawberries. I think they need more attention than I give them. Poor little things. *smile* I hope your garden brings your family great joy this year. *smile* I like the big leafy plants. I think I tried to plant some of those but they didn’t grow. Your’s sure are pretty.

    Have a great weekend with your family. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  7. Hi Vicki, Your plants are looking good! Isn’t it exciting to see things growing and it sounds like you will soon be reaping the benefits! I am behind on my work and wanting to get caught up! A belated happy birthday to Quesntin! My hubby does not like to cook on the grill but I wish he did! Nancy

  8. Happy birthday, Quentin! I love the new grill. Hopefully, we will taste something good cooked on it soon. Your flower beds look lovely, as usual. We got the lower garden tilled yesterday and then the rain came so nothing planted as yet. Hopefully, this week though. I can’t wait until Tuesday!! It’s been way too long since we got together. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  9. It is rainy here today…things are greening up so much I think they might be craving sun! That antique mall had other glasses too. That is a good thing to collect! The cupboards were so homey…I love painted wood. If I go again, I will try to get some pictures of the free-standing kitchen cabinets. Have a good Sunday!

  10. Everything is looking so nice Vicki. We are about a month behind you. We are only now preparing the ground for the gardens. The potatoes should be able to go into the ground in the next couple of weeks if we don’t get to much rain. The rest well… If the frost ever leaves us…..
    How exciting the kiddies must have been for Dad. Everyone loves birthday cake. Hubby turns 40 this year.
    I love it when someone lose cooks too.
    Have a great day with your family.

  11. Hi! I’m melting in the evening heat in my house right now! I’m hoping my husband doesn’t notice as I love having the windows open and no air conditioning on…
    I saw that straw trick on t.v. once, except the dietitian who did it used her mouth and not a straw! ha.

  12. So, I wrote how hot I was…I turned on our air conditioning last night and in the middle of the night it was still running and the house was hot…it is broke! ha. It is 20 years old and my husband was just saying we might need a new one soon…so that is what we are doing, getting estimates. They sure went up in price over 20 years!

    You’re right about the rain…we do need more sun. I just hope the tomatoes don’t get that rot from the uneven rain this year!

Leave a Reply

