Home » Uncategorized » Our Happy Little Barnyard

Our Happy Little Barnyard

Seems spring is having a hard time making it  into our neck of the woods. Our mornings and nights have been quite chilly.  But that’s okay; everything is greening up, and I am enjoying it nevertheless! The birds are singing, and laundry is being hung outdoors.  I look forward to my morning walks browsing through the garden to see what peeked through the earth while I was sleeping.

The chickens and goats are enjoying the fresh growth even more than I am. There are chickens chasing bugs and snipping the tops off of fresh grass blades and laying me fresh, healthy eggs. The goats are munching on a bit of this and a bit of that and leaning over the fence to nibble off fresh leaves from the blackberry vines. Willow is growing wider, and her udder is filling up more and more each day.  She is a pregnant Nigerian dwarf which can give up to two quarts of milk a day. Nigerian dwarf milk also has a very high butterfat content. Fresh eggs daily and the hopes of getting fresh milk make me glad that we have given the goats and chickens the majority of our land.

A few of our pastured chickens

A few of our pastured chickens

School is still moving along nicely. McKenzie finished up math on Wednesday and Quentin Jr. today. Keepers of the Faith is a fun little club that we have done before and started back the beginning of April. It helps school along as my kids don’t mind doing reports and art work when they are working on their awards. This month we worked on memorizing the books of the Bible and did a study of Virginia. Madison worked to earn her goat charm, McKenzie worked to earn her Pets charm, and Quentin Jr. went hunting twice to earn his hunting pin.

McKenzie happy to finish up her math book.

McKenzie happy to finish up her math book.

Madison's goat and Virginia charm that she earned for her bracelet.

Madison’s goat and Virginia charm that she earned for her bracelet.

Quentin Jr.'s Virginia drawings

Quentin Jr.’s Virginia drawings

I hope everyone is enjoying some fresh air and sunshine. Thanks so much for visiting. Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

:)Vicki

 

 

8 thoughts on “Our Happy Little Barnyard

  1. Love the new header on your site. We are already picking asparagus, but the temperature dipped to the 30s last night anyway! Truly, I’m not looking forward to temps in the 90s that we have June-August. I’m loving this weather.
    Have a great weekend!

  2. What a peaceful scene with your animals. Lucky you to enjoy eggs and goatsmilk. Sounds like your kids are doing well and enjoying their school work. I haven’t hung out any clothes yet in my little solar drying area but today is just such a beautiful day. Wishing for many more of these days!! Nancy

  3. Way to go on finishing math. We are close but not there yet. I can’t wait to taste fresh goat milk. I’m sure it will be delicious. I love the new header. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  4. I’m glad Spring is here too, Vicki. The flowers are blooming so pretty, though the pollen is hard on Lee and Katie.
    The Keepers of the Faith looks like it would be fun. I’ve never heard of that before.
    No doubt McKenzie is happy to be finished with math for the year!
    I hope the Straighttalk phone will work out for you guys too. It’s a huge money saver for us! As long as you’re in their coverage area, I don’t see why it wouldn’t. I guess it also depends if you get internet through your phone line. That may be a problem. I just don’t know for sure. I’m not good with stuff like that!
    Hope you enjoy your weekend. We’re helping friends move this weekend, so it’s going to be a busy one for us!
    Take care! 🙂

  5. I like the picture of the hens in the grass. *smile* Thanks for shairing. Great job with the Keepers of the Faith club awards. We have heard of them before, but have been involved in A.W.A.N.A.S. so didn’t get involved in that too. I did go over to check out their site again and noticed they have homeschool curriculum. I was trying to see sample lessons in their curriculum and ended up calling the company in Michgan. I talked to the internet guy and learned that they have samples of the books they print but not of the ones they get from other companies. The man explained their math and reading program and why they only went through eighth grade. I think I would like to invest in some of their books to add to our personal library. I plan to talk to my husband a bit more about the club option for our family also. We shall see. Have a great day and thanks for sharing another great thing with all of us. I also wanted to thank you for making the time to stop by my journal as well as to leave comments. I really appriciate that. *smile* I like your knees and neck thing, it’s a good idea, thank you for shraing it. Have a great day with your famiily. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  6. Wow, your little homestead has sure been busy. I loved catching up on all your posts. Beautiful pics. The weather here has had a hard time as well. But the last few days have been beautiful. Our mornings and nights are still soooo chilly.
    Have a wonderful day Vicki.

Leave a Reply

