Home » Uncategorized » Our Lil Homestead

Our Lil Homestead

Things have been busy around our little homestead. I didn’t know how much I had missed the sunshine and warm weather. It has been a joy spending the past couple weeks in our garden beds weeding and planting seeds. Lettuce, cabbage, spinach, radishes, beets, carrots, and cucumbers are in the ground. Potatoes will need to be planted soon, and everything else will have to wait until mid May. All 5 of our strawberry beds are weeded. They are 16 ft. by 4ft. and were full of weeds. I think I saved them from being choked out, and they are greening up nicely and starting to bloom. I hope to get a bumper crop of strawberries.

Strawberry Bed

Strawberry Bed

Another

Another

Our silkies have been setting, and we have one new baby so far. This chick came out of an egg that had been stuck to the mama chicken. She wouldn’t let us get it off. She is now carrying around half of an egg. Madison wants to keep most of the babies to add to her flock. It is fun watching the mamas care for their babies.

"Egger"

“Egger”

Our other spring chicks have really grown a bunch. They are out of the ugly stage and starting to look like real chickens.

007

009

Beautiful spring blossoms are appearing. Our peach tree has already bloomed, and the flower beds are graced with pretty tulips. Of course there are dandelions blooming in abundance, and we have made dandelion syrup.

001

Tulips

Tulips

McKenzie's Primrose

McKenzie’s Primrose

creeping phlox

creeping phlox

There has been more fence work going on. We are now all fenced in except for the gate that needs to be installed across the driveway. I am glad it is almost complete.

005

I am still working on getting pictures to make photo gifts for Mother’s Day. This week we tagged along once more with the boys when they went fishing. I concentrated on getting pictures of McKenzie this time.

My favorite picture of McKenzie.

My favorite picture of McKenzie.

And,of course,  springtime on the homestead wouldn’t be complete without kittens. Bootsie delivered these this morning.

Homestead Kittens

Homestead Kittens

Have a blessed weekend!

:)Vicki

monday's homestead barn hop

9 thoughts on “Our Lil Homestead

  1. Hi Vicki!
    Your strawberry plants look great!. I love raised bed gardening. I have 24 plants and hope to have a good crop, too. Mine are ever-bearing. The little silky is an adorable chick.
    Have a great weekend!

  2. You have a lot planted! Nice strawberry bed. What a cute little baby chick picture. Pretty flowers too. Dandelion syrup? What does it taste like? Do you use it on pancakes or how? I have heard of dandelion jelly. Have a great night! Nancy

  3. Sorry it’s been too long. I loved looking at all the beautiful pictures of your family and your adventures. It is good that your garden is in and getting going. Our garden spot is still hard dirt and weed filled. I have been thinking about doing different things with that spot and maybe focusing more on landscaping than in a very good garden. Though I hope to put in the relyable things like tomatos, peas, radishes and the like. With seeing the english gardens it’s so pretty and can be very useful way to use the land. *smile* We shall see what we actually do. *smile* I had better let you get back to your day, but I had to stop in to say hello and leave a note. *smile* Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

  4. Your pictures are so good. Makes me want to come over and see everything in person!!! The little chick is so cute. I love the picture of McKenzie. I think the pictures will make a great mothers day gift. I sure hope your strawberries do good this year (hint, hint). We have no kitties yet but Moon is expecting (like we need more cats!). Enjoy your day and God bless.

  5. hello vicki,
    your strawberry plants looking good!! I plant my strawberrys in window boxes,cute photo of the little chicken.lovely springflowers!!! You remind me,to pick up dandelion for making sirup.Thanks for the wonderful photos!!!!
    Wish you a nice weekend,
    Regina

  6. What great pictures. We need to get our strawberry bed weeded soon. I love fresh picked strawberries.

    McKenzie is a beautiful girl. Have a wonderful day.

    ~Cheryl

Leave a Reply

