Home » Uncategorized » Chicks, Baby Quail, a Recipe, and More

Chicks, Baby Quail, a Recipe, and More

Every year as spring gets near, I get chick fever. I just love the little fuzz balls. Quentin brought us home six little chicks last Wednesday.  We have two red pullets and 4 cochin bantams. He thought he was getting us four new silkies because they have fuzzy feet, but we love them anyway.  We will just have a cochin bantam flock now. They are good setters just like silkies, and I love cooking bantam eggs.

Curious Little Chicks

Curious Little Chicks

Thursday morning we awoke to a baby button quail. It seems to be happy and healthy. We hope to find it a friend sometime.

Just Hatched

Just Hatched

4 Days Old

4 Days Old

Today we had Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole for supper for the second time. It is so so good and cheap too.  Grocery prices are rising and I want to keep my weekly grocery bill under $75. We had green beans from last years garden and potatoes with ours.

Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

3 cups broth(chicken or vegetable)(I just use water)

3/4 cup lentils

1/2 cup brown rice

3/4 cup chopped onions(I used dried onions)

1 tsp italian seasoning

1/4 tsp garlic powder(I used 1 tsp)

1 cup grated cheese

1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. 2. Mix all ingredients except the cheese in a 11 x 7 baking dish. 3. Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour 10 minutes. 4. Then remove the foil, add the cheese, and bake for an additional 20 minutes.

It really is yummy!

SEEDS!

SEEDS!

I still have spring fever-badly! I can’t wait to plant these seeds. Our weather for the most part has just been plain cold with snow blowing most days, and there is a snow storm on its way.

We have still been chipping away at school lessons.  I do see an end in sight. Last week we started typing and everyone is doing great. Once we are done with that we will start a computer program. We will work through the month of May, take off the whole month of June, and start the next school year the Monday following July 4th.

An Easter Egg Table Runner That Madison Made

An Easter Egg Table Runner That Madison Made

I am linking up to

monday's homestead barn hop

8 thoughts on “Chicks, Baby Quail, a Recipe, and More

  1. I cooked lentil once but they didn’t turn out so good. The casserole looks yummy. I need to try that. The chicks are so cute! We will need to work through the month of May also but I hope to complete everything by then. We take June and July off. I am ready for spring also. We will plant a few things. Hope you have a great week.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

  2. The baby chicks are adorable! I sure hope the li’l quail gets some company soon. I really wish I could have some chicks, now, but we are putting our house up for sale, again. 😦
    The table runner looks really nice!
    I hope the strawberry popcorn does well for you. I tried those a few years ago, but they didn’t do well. It may have been the weather, though.
    Have a great week!

  3. Oh, we have to get over to your house! I’ve got to see all your new babies! The seed packets look so good. I am so looking forward to planting and eating fresh garden food. Madison did a great job on the table runner. The casserole looks so good. I really like lentils. Too bad, I am the only one. Everyone else eats them when I cook them but they are no one’s favorite. Talk to you soon and God bless.

  4. I love the looks of newly hatched chicks. I need to order mine soon. Your lentil recipe sounds good. I know we try to have a meatless meal once a week.

    Madison did a great job on her table runner. Have a wonderful day with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  5. I love Spring,and Easter for these same reasons. Chicks, chicks and more chicks. Yours are to cute. It will be another month here before we start hatching as it is to cold. Your casserole looks yummy. We have placed our seed orders are are waiting them. Your daughter beautiful job on her runner.
    It is great to hear from you.
    Take care

  6. The chicks are cute. I agree, spring brings fresh starts in the garden and farm life. *smile* We have eight hens that are richly blessing us with plenty of eggs for now, and I am thankful. *smile* We have four black and white hens and four white hens. I don’t remember what they are called, but they are good hens. *smile*

    I have so many seed packs I am not sure where we will put them all. *smile* Last year ended with a garden spot full of morning glory. That horrid plant took over. I hope to have my beloved help me prepare the garden this year and to be better at weeding it. Not him, *smile* me. *smile*

    I hope you have a lovely weekend. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

Leave a Reply

