Home » Uncategorized » Fuzzy Bunnies

Fuzzy Bunnies

monday's homestead barn hop

 

We have bunnies!  They are Lionhead rabbits and so fuzzy. The white rabbit is our male and his name is Hoth. The orange and gray rabbit is our female and her name is Dantooine(Dan-to-ween). When Dantooine is eight months old we will breed them.  We are hoping to use a little of their fur to mix with Pippi’s for spinning. In the meantime we are looking for a couple of Angora rabbits also.

It is 48º here today, but the wind is so cold. We woke up to a sick Pippi this morning. After reading through the goat book and searching online we determined she had to have coccidiosis. There was nothing else it could be. I spoke to an old man that owns our local feed store and told him what was going on and what I was looking for. He said he would call his son, and he would be able to help me. We loaded Pippi up and headed to the farm store. The man’s son was there and already had a few things gathered for us. He went through each one and told me which one he thought would be better for her. I bought that medicine plus another just to have on hand. She is already feeling and acting much much better. I am so thankful they took the time to help us. You just don’t get that at our Tractor Supply.

Here are some cute bunny pictures. We built them a small playpen today for exercise. I have to get some zip ties so we can make it larger and more stable. We are hoping to tame them up more by putting them in the pen. Dantooine is already quite tame, but I did get scratched by Hoth today. He is older and a  little skittish. I will make sure to use gloves when handling him for a while.

I hope everyone has enjoyed their weekend!

:)Vicki

021

003

004

007

008

010

013

015

016

020

5 thoughts on “Fuzzy Bunnies

  1. Oh, the bunnies are so cute!! They look very soft. I’m glad Pippi is doing better. 🙂
    You got lots of SNOW! How ’bout sending some my way! Hope you have a great week!

  2. Thank the Lord you got help for Pippi before it was too late! Sadly, Tractor Supply is in danger of becoming just a fashion/home decor/pet supply store with employees that don’t really know much about animals.
    The bunnies are adorable!
    Have a great week!

  3. Oh my gosh, the girls are SO excited. They are already wanting to know when we can come to see them. Soon, I hope. I want to borrow your history dvd too. Which farm store did you go to? They sure were helpful. Most people in Floyd are though, I think. Anyway, we can’t wait to see the bunnies. What day is Quentin off? Maybe we could come over then and eat. Wow, just look at me, I just invited myself over for dinner!! Anyway call me or I’ll call you. God bless.

  4. They are cute. Thanks for sharing your cute pictures with all of us. Have a great day and have fun with your new pets. *smile* Also, thank you for making time to stop by and for sharing your kind words at my blog. *smile* Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

Leave a Reply

