Home » Uncategorized » Our Week

Our Week

We were blessed with another great week. We got in four days of school, and we are really enjoying our new science curriculum. Everyone is doing the same science since it is listed for 7th grade and for ages 11, 12, & 13. That is exactly what I have! Most lessons are backed with some sort of experiment which everyone is enjoying. The experiments are helping me understand and remember what we’re learning. I think they are helping my kids too. πŸ™‚

The first experiment we did was Density in Nature.

Madison’s observations in her science journal.

Our second experiment was Atomic Motion.

McKenzie’s observations.

Thursday was a no school day. The boys went hunting. The girls and myself washed quilts and cleaned bathrooms. In the afternoon we went for a walk through the woods with the Dawsons. I love hiking in the fall and hearing the leaves crunch under my feet. Thursday night we cut some firewood.

Bambi is always happy to go anywhere at all!

While thrift shopping last week McKenzie found a manger for $1.50 at the Salvation Army. We have a thing for nativities. I bought these wooden nativity figures to go in her manger off ebay.Β  I think it made an adorable set. She will take them with her when she is grown to have in her own house. πŸ™‚

So cute!

Friday night Quentin surprised with flowers and Lays dill pickle chips. Does anyone else love dill pickle chips?

A cornucopia with flowers. We can’t wait to fill it with fresh fruit once the flowers die.

Madison is working on a quilt.Β  I think it is called Sunbonnet Sue. She has her first quilt square finished. We planned on it being our winter project so she is trying not to complete it so fast.

Sunbonnet Sue-I think. πŸ™‚

We had tacos this week and turned our flour tortillas into taco bowls. They tasted just like the ones you get at a Mexican restaurant. Since they were so easy to make I thought I would share them with you. πŸ™‚ We used the recipe found here.

Homemade taco bowls.

And that was our week. I hope you were blessed with a great as well!

:)Vicki

2 thoughts on “Our Week

  1. Lots of neat things going on around your house. The science curriculum looks great. I love the nativity and Madison’s quilt is pretty. I can’t wait to see the finished product. I think this year will be a year round school year for us. I’m glad I finally had a few minutes to comment on your blog. πŸ™‚ I hope all is well with your family and thank you for all the sweet comments you have left on mine.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

  2. I’m glad science is going well. It looks like fun. We had a great time on our hike. I hope we can do it again (very soon). I love McKenzie’s nativity set. So cute. Madison’s quilt looks so nice. I know she will do a great job. Talk to you this week. God bless.

Leave a Reply

