Home » Goats » Fall is Here!

Fall is Here!

I was so excited for fall to get here, now I am just cold! πŸ™‚ It was 37ΒΊ when I got up this morning. We were under a frost advisory, but there is no frost on the pumpkins just yet. πŸ™‚

Last Thursday was moving day for the goats and chickens. We put their houses down by the road under the tree. It was the only semi-level spot. They are adjusting well, and we are even getting more eggs!

So much more room! It has been funny watching the chickens chase grasshoppers.

One of our silkie hens was sitting on 5 eggs but only 3 hatched. Our other hen wasn’t sitting on eggs; she was just keeping the other hen company. πŸ™‚

These little guys are 4 weeks old now and starting to eat. That will give mama kitty a bit of a break, I hope, as she is feeding 10 kittens!

Yesterday we picnicked on the parkway and visited Mabry Mill. We think it the first time that we have been there while the wheel was running.

There were ladies inside this building spinning wool and weaving.

This man was building ladder back chairs.

My very big babies! πŸ™‚

Madison & Bambi

McKenzie

Quentin Jr.

I hope everyone is enjoying the coziness of fall!

I am linking up to:

5 thoughts on “Fall is Here!

  1. Your homestead looks really good, and the goats and chickens must be very content. I’ve never raised silkies – they’re adorable!

    I love visiting old mills. It must have been a real treat for it to be working while you were there. Your family is precious.
    Have a great week!

  2. That is cold for this early, at least out here. The flowers are beautiful. I can imagine the animals love the pasture and the roaming they can do.

    The mill pictures are wonderful. I would love to see one.

    Have a wonderful day with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  3. Your pictures are so good. I’m sure the chicks are having a great time with all that open space. I’m sure Bootsie will be glad when they are all eating. She has done a great job feeding them all. She is a good mommy. See you all Saturday. God bless.

  4. I love fall, it’s so beautiful. I visited that mill a few months ago, very pretty, and the wheel was turning then also. When I was there it was rainy and there were only a few people doing any kind of work there. Wish we could have meet at the mill, that would have been nice. I’ll have to try and get my photos uploaded to my blog also(hopefully in a few days πŸ™‚ God Bless

Leave a Reply

