Home » Uncategorized » September 1st

September 1st

Wow, September already!  I love September days.  Nice, warm, and summery during the day. Nice, cool, and fall-like mornings and nights!

We have completely 100% finished fencing in the field.  The dogs and goats are taking turns enjoying the new space.  Caspian will be 2 years old this Christmas and has calmed down so much allowing us to play and walk with him in the field not jumping on us or the kids at all.  I am so proud of him. He comes when called and sits for us to get his leash on him.  When we lock the goats and chickens up at night; the dogs will protect the field.

Quentin and Caspian

It will still be another week or two before the goats move to their new home.  We are gradually getting them used to pasture.  We don’t want them to bloat.  They have spent an hour in the field the past three days.  The kids and I  run through the fields with them following right behind.  They are so funny when they run!

Lilac on the left Willow on the right

What do we eat next?

There are 10 new kittens, and they are super cute!

So sweet!

And ducklings-again!  This is the third hatching this year for mama duck.

Seven new ducklings

We also have two silkies setting.  Their eggs will start hatching on the 11th.  Our critters do keep us busy!

Our school year is still going really well.  We have been getting in 4 days each week.  We had to change our schedule a bit, but I think we finally found a schedule that works for us.

Our day now looks like this:

7:00 feed goats and tidy house

7:30 breakfast

8:00 History/Science/Health(Right now we are working on history & health)

8:30 Math

10:30 Spelling

11:00 lunch

11:30 break

12:00 English

2:00 Reading

3:00 outdoor chores then free time

Today we have dusted, vacuumed, and cleaned bathrooms.  Quentin works all weekend, but is off next weekend so next weekend will be our Labor Day weekend. 🙂

I hope everyone has a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

:)Vicki

I am linking up to:

8 thoughts on “September 1st

  1. I enjoyed looking at all your furry (and feathered) friends. I’m so happy you finally got your fencing done. What an accomplishment! Hope you have a great school year. We’ll start back on Tuesday. Take care! 🙂

  2. I know everyone is enjoying the fenced in area and you are enjoying it being finished. Those silkies sure do like to set. Crazy is still broody. I wish I could think of a place to put her. We would just let her set. She so wants to be a mommy. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  3. Way to go on finishing the fence. It is a lot of hard work. I am sure your goats will really enjoy the pasture. Have a wonderful day with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  4. I’m still dreaming of goats, hopefully one day that dream will be a reality! Love the ducks they are so cute. Glad your school days are going so well, I have been thinking about doing the 4 days a week for us, but didn’t know anyone personally who did that. It seems we get behind on our chores with doing school 5 days and then having church on Sunday, that only leaves Saturday to try and get everything caught up, and as you know that just isn’t enough time to get it all done. I’d love to hear more about how it’s working out for you all and I may just take the plung. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment, I wasn’t sure if anyone was still checking in after so long a time. That encourages me to write again. God Bless!

  5. They look great and I am sure your animals are thanking you.
    Wow more kittens again. How cute your kiddies will be right in their glory. I hope your mamma duck does a good job. I love silkies you are very lucky to have them.
    Your new school year sounds great, I bet you are doing a great job.
    Take care

Leave a Reply

