Home » Uncategorized » What’s Been Happening

What’s Been Happening

Hi!  I hope you all are enjoying your last bit of summer.  Our nights and mornings are much cooler which has me all excited for fall.

a touch of fall from our garden

Our gardening has almost come to an end.  We only have okra, watermelon, and tomatoes left.  I was seriously considering letting the rest of the tomatoes rot on the vine, but I picked 4 gallons today.  I will can all of those and pick again for tomato juice.  I will be glad I didn’t waste them when we are eating chili and soup this winter.

canned tomatoes

We have been concentrating heavily on school, and we are back to doing school four days a week.  Quentin is taking a week of vacation next month, and I am sure the kids will be good and ready for a break.

We have got a lot done on our fence.  I know you must be thinking we are the slowest fence builders ever and we are!  We now have a gate, almost all of the posts in, and started putting up the wire fence. I can’t wait to get the goats in the field and share some pictures with you!  We plan on adding a bottle baby buckling for Christmas and having our own kids and goat milk by fall 2013.

I have been in a decorating and dessert mood lately.  I will leave you with a picture of my latest try at decorating and a recipe.

I bought these metal chickens off ebay for a whole .99 and put them on top of the entertainment center. I know I am no Martha Stewart.  At least I didn’t buy another chair! 🙂

metal chickens

My dad loved peanut butter, and he loved peanut butter pie even more.  We made one yesterday and just put another in the freezer.  It will most likely become our breakfast tomorrow morning!

Peanut Butter Pie

peanut butter pie

1/2 cup peanut butter

8 oz. cream cheese

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup milk

8 oz. whipped topping

1 9in graham cracker crust

mix cream cheese until fluffy

blend in peanut butter and powdered sugar

slowly add milk and fold in whipped topping

put in pie shell and freeze until set

It is very good but very rich.  Half a piece usually does it for me.

Have a great week!

:)Vicki

4 thoughts on “What’s Been Happening

  1. I am so jealous of all your tomatoes. Mine just did not work out this year. I think they got a fungus from too much rain 😦 LOVE the chickens! And that pie looks delish!

  2. I really like your chickens. Have I ever ate peanut butter pie at your house? I don’t think I have so I think I need to. It looks delicious. God bless.

  3. I can not believe fall is coming so quickly. Only a couple more weeks and the kids will be back in school.
    I am happy for you,as your tomatoes were a good crop. Mine are just turning red. I am waiting to make a big old batch of ketchup. So far it has only been the cherry ones that we have been munching on.

Leave a Reply

