Home » Uncategorized » Yogurt and Sourdough

Yogurt and Sourdough

2 Quarts of Yogurt

I have been making homemade yogurt for a few weeks now and can hardly keep up with the demand.  I “incubate” mine in the crock pot for seven hours.

ready to be stirred and refrigerated

It is very good with strawberry jam and granola or in smoothies.

Yummy!

I am also learning how to use sourdough starter.  We made our first loaves of bread yesterday.  They tasted really good.  I just need to learn how to make them pretty. 🙂

sourdough starter

Sourdough Bread

This week flew by.  We only got in 3 days of school.  We have now started History, Science, Math, & English.  We will add Spelling on Monday.  Our school days are going smoothly, and I am enjoying our new schedule.  We will take one week off in September and one week in October.  We like to vacation while things aren’t quite so crowded and when it’s not so hot.

I got my dusting, vacuuming, and mopping done yesterday.  I will get the bathrooms cleaned today and be done with the housework.  We are going to bake some zucchini brownies to snack on this weekend and make up some waffles for the freezer for breakfasts next week.  It will be somewhat of a lazy day.

I hope you all have a great weekend!

:)Vicki

5 thoughts on “Yogurt and Sourdough

  1. It all looks yummy! I haven’t made yogurt. I have made sourdough in the past and it is good.

    Have a wonderful weekend with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  2. Your bread looks great!! I’m glad it turned out for you. The homemade yogurt is so good. I (only me) love it. Zucchini brownies sound good. Maybe I’ll make those for dessert too. I am making chocolate chip cookies right now as that is all the grandkids favorite. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  3. Gosh, had no idea you could make yogurt, and sour dough base, in a crock pot! Would you be so kind, to share the recipes for both. My family and I would so appreciate it.
    Gracie

    • I only make the yogurt in the crockpot. I tried doing my own sourdough starter but ended up ordering it from here http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/classic-fresh-sourdough-starter-1-oz

      To make yogurt in the crockpot, first heat water to 115º and pour it in your crockpot. You only want enough water in there to come halfway up your jars. Turn your crockpot on warm and leave it while you prepare your yogurt.

      Pour one quart of milk into a pot and stirring constantly heat your milk to 185º. I set my stove eye on pretty high on 8. Don’t quit stirring or your milk will scorch.

      Now you want to cool your milk to 110º. I do this by placing my pot in the sink with ice and water. While your milk is cooling set out two tablespoons of plain yogurt to warm up a little.

      Once it cools to 110º mix in your 2T. of yogurt really well.

      Now it is ready to pour into your jars. I like using pint canning jars best.

      Place your jars into the water in the crockpot.

      Put the lid on and turn your crockpot off. Cover your crockpot with a heavy towel to hold the heat in. About every 2 hours turn your crockpot back on warm for 15 minutes. After 7 hours, stir your yogurt and refrigerate.

      I learned how to make yogurt using this site http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Yogurt I hope you enjoy your yogurt!

  4. I need to try the yogurt. My kiddos and myself are big yogurt eaters! As for sourdough….all I can say is yum!! Your’s looks delicious. I have been lax in the kitchen the last week or so. I’m just not in the cooking mood right now. All your goodies sound yummy!

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

