Home » Uncategorized » Outside Our Home

Outside Our Home

July 28 already!  Summer is flying by.  We have finished our third week of school, doing school only 4 days each week.   We are very glad for Saturday. 🙂  I will be making yogurt, making laundry detergent, and freezing green beans.  We will also give the house a good cleaning because Quentin’s parents are visiting tomorrow.

Our garden is still growing well although the zucchini and squash plants have given in to the squash bugs.  There are a lot of watermelons on the vine, and we hope to pick corn soon.  I don’t think it will be too much longer before we pick some okra.

Corn & Watermelon Vines

Okra

This little apple tree has one branch that is loaded with apples.

One of our apple trees

And we are starting to pick tomatoes.  My guys pick early. 🙂

Our first four tomatoes

I have worked the last few days in our flower beds.  Most flowers have bloomed already, and we are left with a lot of green.

Back and Side Flower Bed

My father-in-law gave me the seeds to this older variety of marigolds. They are unique.

Marigolds

Yesterday we got our first hibiscus blossom.  The rose of sharon bushes are also starting to bloom.

Hibiscus

Rose of Sharon

I am always greeted by the goats and chickens.  They hear the door open and start calling.

Lilac and Willow

We love tomato leaves!

We have a couple of hens that are still setting.  They have hatched five chicks so far, and one of their eggs was peeping last night.

A couple of new barnyard chicks

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

:)Vicki

I am linking this post to Homestead Barn Hop

3 thoughts on “Outside Our Home

  1. Your garden looks great. The apple tree has lots of apples on it. I’m envious. We do not have any tomatoes yet. We are having trouble with blossom rot. I am going to do what Quentin suggested and see if that helps. Maybe you could save me a few seeds from the marigolds. They are very pretty. (and the hibiscus, please). I hope you all have a good visit with James and Ruth. We are having the picnic/baptism at Gallimore pond tomorrow. It will start at 10:00 with Sunday School. I don’t think we will be baptizing anyone though. It would be great if you all could come. Bring James and Ruth, too. Talk to you soon. God bless.

  2. What beautiful pictures. 🙂 Your garden looks great. You guys have been working hard on school. We took off this Friday from school also. I hope you enjoy the visit with Quentin’s parents. Have a great day.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

  3. Everything looks great. I can’t believe how fast the summer is flying either.

    Have a wonderful day.

    ~Cheryl

Leave a Reply

