Home » Uncategorized » Around Here

Around Here

Summer is ticking by, and we are enjoying it fully!  This past Saturday Quentin and I celebrated our 14th Anniversary.  We went to the movies to see Spider Man and Quentin cooked our meals for the day.  It is hard to get my guys to go out to eat lately.  Too many Yahoo articles on restaurants I suppose?!  My favorite gift was an old chair-of course!  I was admiring this one in a shop down town a couple of weeks ago.  It was a nice surprise!

Our garden is still doing good.  We have been picking zucchini, summer squash, cucumbers, and cabbage.  There are baby green beans that will have to be picked soon.  We have frozen 58 cups of shredded zucchini.  We like it in brownies, bread, and muffins.  We also like it sliced and fried, but I am mostly too lazy to stand and fry anything!

Zucchini brownies are an old favorite of ours.

Chocolate zucchini bread is a new favorite.

Zucchini carrot muffins make a colorful breakfast or snack.

I think I have figured out how to take care of cabbage now.  I froze 4 quarts from one head of cabbage yesterday and have two more cabbages recovering from some kind of caterpillars that I killed off with Dawn dish liquid.  When my zucchini plants are finished I plan to plant more cabbage in its place.

It has cooled off enough here to comfortably work outside.  It is only 75º out right now. Yesterday we even got a lot of rain.  There are tons of green tomatoes on the vines, and I am hoping the rain will help them to ripen.

This morning we started school.  It will be several weeks until we are back at it full time.  Our schedule for the year looks like this:

7 am Feed goats & tidy up the house

7:30 am Breakfast

8 am History (drive thru history America foundations of character)

8:30 am Math (teaching textbooks & math u see)

11 am lunch

11:30 am break

12 noon English(rod and staff)

1 pm science (a beka will do rod and staff when finished with last years book)

1:30 pm Spelling (spelling power)

2 pm Reading(rod and staff ordered day before yesterday)

3 pm Feed and Water Animals & outdoor chores

When we finish up with History we will work on Health which will more than likely be Rod and Staff.  I am allowing 2 1/2 hours for math.  That will give me time to go over assignments, get everyone started on their work, and one on one time if needed.  We are excited to be working on school again.  We really enjoyed Drive Thru History America this morning.  For the first time I felt like I was doing a good job teaching History, and it was fun!

I hope you all are enjoying your summer and keeping cool!

:)Vicki

4 thoughts on “Around Here

  1. Wow, you all are getting lots done. What are you doing with your cabbage? I have never frozen it. We just usually eat it fresh. I will call you later today. I want to talk about the Drive Thru History America. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  2. We are finally getting rain here too! Praise God, it has broken the relentless heat wave for us. 🙂 I thought my family was the one one that was having trouble eating out after all the “pink slime reports”. LOL. Poor Mathin will hardly eat anywhere. He usually just chooses to eat a sandwich at home. There are certain things that I WILL NOT eat anymore becasue of all the articles. Glad to know it’s not just my bunch. LOL. We use mostly Rod and Staff with Mathin but I need to add something more to his math. It does a good job on what it covers but I just don’t think it covers everything. We will swap to Teaching Textbooks for him after this year. I really like TT for math. Math takes the longest for us also. All of your baked goods look so yummy. When I tried to grow cabbage the bugs ate them up. The next time I try to plant them I will give the Dawn a go. That’s great that you have your schedule nailed down. I love to take a look at other people’s schedules. Hope you have a great day.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

  3. Hi Vicki ~ Happy belated Anniversary wishes to you and your husband! You have been very productive! Everything looks delicious!

    I saw your post on drying mint ~ I want to try this soon! I don’t have a dehydrator and so I was happy to see that I can dry it in the oven. I have started a mint garden this year and I want to try and use them for tea.

    Blessings on your day,
    Sharon

  4. What do you use your cabbage for? I have several heads that are growing in the garden now. We shredded up more zucchini today for the freezer. I think that gives us 76 cups now. Would you please share your zucchini brownie recipe?

    I tried you zucchini carrot muffins this morning and they were wonderful. I do have to admit I added a couple of tablespoons of cocoa to them. I will try them without next time.

    Have a wonderful evening with your family.

    ~Cheryl

Leave a Reply

