Home » Uncategorized » America’s Birthday

America’s Birthday

Our little home decorated for the 4th.

I hope you all had a happy 4th.  We had a fun, relaxing day. Quentin’s mom made it over around noon, and we ate and just enjoyed being out in the sunshine.  I filled 150 water balloons, and my kids introduced the three little boys from next door to water balloons.  We all got soaked.  I wish I would have taken some pictures.  In the evening Quentin set fire works off for us, and we watched Floyd’s fireworks from the porch afterwards.

My kids with their Momaw.

Madison got brave and had her ears pierced on Tuesday.  She did great and has been taking care of them and keeping them clean.  She paid to have it done herself.  They do grow up way too fast!

Newly pierced ears!

Yesterday, we took Quentin’s mom to Schoolhouse Fabrics in Floyd.  It was her first time going, and she enjoyed looking through 3 stories of fabric and craft supplies.  She also treated the kids to lots of crafting supplies.  Madison got a bow making book and is having fun learning how to make different bows.  They also had all their patterns for half off.  She got the girls a dress pattern and fabric for dresses.  She also taught us that there is a fabric that is called polished cotton that is better for making dresses.  It doesn’t wrinkle.  I wish I would have known that a long time ago!

Cute little ducklings!

I am catching up on laundry and housework today.  Someone is supposed to come buy all our ducklings today.  There are chicks hatching right now that I am chick-napping as they dry off.  I will use the ones that turn out to be hens for eggs.  I want to learn how to process chickens so I can butcher the roosters for meat.

New chicks.

We have taken off over a month straight from schoolwork.  This morning I ordered Drive Thru History America: Foundations of character.  When I get it in the mail, we will start working through it.  We will work on history for a week, and the next week I will add another subject.  I will add a new subject each week until we are fully back into the swing of things!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

6 thoughts on “America’s Birthday

  1. Great picture of the kids with their grandma. It looks like you had a great time. Your house looks pretty. Oh ear piercing. I remember when Morgan had her’s done. It’s been a long time since we have done that (since 2 boys came after her LOL). Madison looks so pretty. 🙂 I’m sure Mia will be wanting to have that done when she is older. We have been working on health,science, math facts, and violin for several weeks now. I like your idea of adding a subject per week to get back into the full swing of things. 🙂 I think I will try that. We are going to be starting our core subjects in just a couple of weeks. I ordered Markham’s curriculum yesterday. The beginning of our schoolyear will be a little off with the baby coming so we will are trying to get a head start. I hope you have a great day.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

  2. Sounds like a wonderful day spent with family. Two of my girls have pierced ears. The other doesn’t want them. You have a beautiful family. What a blessing to spend time with their Momaw.

    We won’t start school until August 27th. It will be weird to only have one child to work with. Have a wonderful day with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  3. Hey, you didn’t tell me Madison was thinking of getting her ears pierced. Let me know what you think of the history course. We are working on the civil rights movement right now. We didn’t do anything this week. The ducks are so cute. We moved the broody hen into the coup, fixed her up a nice nest with two eggs in it, put new straw on the floor. Now we just have to wait and see. Right now she is not too happy. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  4. sounds like you had a wonderful 4th of July. It was nice of Hubbys mom to come for a visit. I bet the weeones had a great time cooling off. to much fun.
    Your little chicks are to cute.
    Have a great day.

  5. Those little ducklings are adorable! I’ve a horrible feeling my handsome drake is past his prime if you catch my drift as we’ve had 4 broody ducks so far this years with no results. 2 more are sitting now, so we’ll see. He’s the only one I’ve got sentimental over, and I’m not sure I could upgrade him!
    janie x

Leave a Reply

