Home » Uncategorized » A Garden Tour

A Garden Tour

Today is cloudy and we are getting rain showers.  We are inside catching up on laundry and housework and hopefully the rain is making the garden grow. 🙂  I did go out this morning and snapped a few pictures.  Here is how our garden is doing.

I am happy with how our tomatoes are growing.  They are strong and green and starting to bloom.

Tomato Patch

Our corn is also looking pretty healthy and strong.  There are sunflowers growing throughout the corn.

Corn

The zucchini plants are looking good, but I already have squash bugs.  I coated them with flour, garlic powder, and dried hot pepper flakes.  I will also try a spray bottle with Dawn dish liquid and water.

zucchini

There are a couple rows of watermelon or maybe it is cantaloupe. 🙂

watermelon?

A couple rows of newly sprouted okra.

Okra and a couple potato plants

I am not so sure the garlic is doing so great.

Garlic

But the onions look like they are getting nice and thick.

onions

These squash plants are supposed to resistant to squash bugs, but I floured them anyway.  There are also some cucumbers growing in this part of the garden.

squash

The potatoes weren’t doing so great so we planted some green beans with them.  They have decided they want to grow now.

Potatoes & Green Beans

Green Beans

Green Beans and Carrots

And more green beans I think

Cucumbers, potatoes, and corn. My guys are creative I guess. 🙂

One good cabbage and one badly eaten cabbage

I am really hoping we get a lot to can and freeze.  Blessings from One and a Half Acre Homestead!

I am linking this post to Homestead Barn Hop

6 thoughts on “A Garden Tour

  1. Everything is looking great your way! We got some good rain last week too, but I think it was too much for my tomatoes. Had to pull 2 up this morning because they got a fungus or something. Hopefully it won’t spread!

  2. I hope you have better success with the squash beetles than I did last year… the only thing that somewhat managed them was hand picking them & drowning them in a bucket of water. In the end though, they won and I lost all my plants. This year I hay mulched before planting, and I haven’t seen one! (Yea!) I don’t necessarily credit the mulch though, our spring was so unseasonably warm followed by a cold snap I think all the bugs are off cycle with the plants- praise the Lord!

  3. Your garden looks great!! I’m SO sorry about the squash bugs. I hope you find something that gets rid of them and then let me know how. I only have one squash plant and three zucchini but they look pretty good so far. Your tomatoes look really good. I hope you get lots and lots of good stuff from your garden. I helped George today and will be helping again tomorrow. Let’s try to talk this week. Maybe we can get together. Has your mom left yet? I was hoping to see her before she left. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  4. Your garden is looking good. I am sure that it is enjoying the rain. We just irrigated our garden this weekend, so I wasn’t able to get into it.

    Have a wonderful evening with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  5. Your garden looks beautiful. I didn’t really get much planted other than flowers this year. 😦 I hope yours does well. I never have any luck with cabbage. The bugs always eat it up. Looks like before long you will have lots of goodies.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

