Home » Uncategorized » Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day!  I hope you all have a special day!  It has been several days since I posted again so I thought I would give you a glimpse into our days with more pictures.

A bouquet of flowers from McKenzie.

Our rhododendrons are blooming.

36 tomato plants that I am hardening off.  I increase their outdoor time by 1 hour each day.  In a week and a half they will be ready to be planted in the garden.  I also got some pepper plants that I will start hardening off tomorrow.

Last night I made rhubarb jam.  We all love it except for Quentin.  He is really supportive though.  He says 4 out of 5 people isn’t bad. 🙂

Today’s egg “harvest”.  Our ladies are working hard to keep us fed. I always think the eggs are so pretty.

I have finished putting in wooden posts across the top of our yard.  This picture doesn’t show them all. I lack 4 more wooden posts down by the road.  I am glad because I am getting really tired of putting them in.  I like doing the metal posts much better.

My Mother’s Day gift was a window box outside of the kitchen window.  Now when I look out I will see pretty flowers and not just a carport. 🙂

Today’s strawberry harvest.  I can’t wait until we start picking enough to put away.

Our neighbors field is full of blackberry blossoms.  She lets us pick them.

The weather has allowed for several cook outs.

Tomorrow (Sunday) we will visit Quentin’s grandfather and deliver these to my mother-in-law.  I thought they were so pretty.  Quentin’s grandfather had a stroke last Sunday and is not doing well.  He decided a while back that he did not want any help when it came time for him to go so he is at home and the family has set up hospice.  Please keep him and his family in your prayers.

I hope you enjoyed a glimpse into our week and have a great Mother’s Day.

Blessings from One and a Half Acre Homestead!


4 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Happy Mother’s day, Vicki. What beautiful flowers. The rhododendrons are beautiful. How fun to be able to have cook outs on the back patio. We need to do that more this summer.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    ~Cheryl

  2. I want to come to a cookout!! Your table looks so bright and cheerful. Ruth’s flowers are beautiful. I saw some similar to that at the Farmers Market and thought they were so pretty. We can’t wait until Wednesday. So excited!!!!! God bless.

  3. I am so happy to see that you had a wonderful mother’s day. Everything looks perfect as usual. I thought of you today while HB and I got a little fencing done.
    I can’t wait for our season for my rhododendron to bloom like that. We are only about 2 weeks away from our rhubarb season. I am so looking forward to it. I must send you my famous rhubarb roll recipe it is to die for.
    I love your table cloth it is so summer. Have a great day.

  4. I’m sorry to hear about Quentin’s grandfather. I will be praying for him and your family. Can you believe I have never had rhubard. I think I’m missing out. Your strawberries are so pretty. If you have any good strawberry recipes I would love to have them. Your flowers are beautiful. I hope you had a great Mother’s Day.

    Blessings,
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

